Please reload

Recent Posts

In the midst of nationwide protests regarding the death of George Floyd in Minneapolis, Minnesota, City Councilor Jesse Lederman issues the following...

Councilor Lederman Issues Statement on the Death of George Floyd

May 30, 2020

Please reload

Featured Posts

Councilors Lederman, Hurst Call Joint Committee Meeting on Opioid Addiction Treatment Options in Greater Springfield

June 24, 2018


At-Large Springfield City Councilors Jesse Lederman and Justin Hurst have called a joint meeting of their respective committee’s to take place on Monday, June 25th at 1 PM at Springfield City Hall.


Lederman, who is Chair of the Health and Human Services Committee, and Hurst, who Chairs the Public Safety Committee, called the meeting following a separate Public Safety meeting in which representatives of the Police Department expressed frustration with a perceived lack of treatment options for addicted individuals who become law enforcement involved.


“The tragedy of addiction continues to perpetuate the suffering of many individuals and families across our communities,” said Councilor Lederman, “We have a responsibility to fight for treatment on demand in our community. If people are ready to take the steps to get well, we need to ensure the resources are there for them to do that. It’s about saving lives.”


“Opioid addiction continues to terrorize communities in the City of Springfield and surrounding area,” said Councilor Hurst “It is incumbent to utilize every resource to combat this epidemic that ravages families daily. In order to best serve our constituents it is critical to ensure that all departments are leveraging their collective power to affect change, which is why I look for to this meeting.”


Expected to attend the meeting are representatives of the Police Department, the Health and Human Services Department, the Sheriff’s Office office who operate an opioid task force.

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

© 2020. This website paid for and maintained by The Committee to Elect Jesse Lederman, Geoffrey F.X. O'Connell, Treasurer.