top of page

Councilor Lederman to Chair COVID-19 Response Committee Virtual Town Hall

The Springfield City Council COVID-19 Response Committee will hold a Virtual Town Hall Meeting on Tuesday, May 25 at 7:00 PM to seek direct input from Springfield residents and business owners as the city moves towards pandemic recovery.

“The COVID-19 pandemic has impacted every aspect of our lives for more than a year, but we are poised to make a strong recovery in the year ahead. The experiences of our community are going to be vital in informing efforts towards that recovery,” said City Councilor Jesse Lederman, Chairman of the COVID-19 Response Committee, “With vaccine availability, restrictions being lifted and the City of Springfield on the cusp of receiving more than $100 million dollars in COVID relief funding, we feel it is important to provide a platform for Springfield residents and business owners to provide direct input and insight into how they have been impacted by the pandemic and how the City of Springfield can leverage incoming resources to support a strong and equitable recovery.”

“It’s been a dynamic effort on the part of residents to help lower the COVID-19 rates in Springfield. As some level of normalcy seems within sight, this town hall will allow residents the opportunity to reflect on the past year and ask city officials what’s to come amid changing guidelines,” said City Councilor President Marcus J. Williams, “The COVID-19 Response Committee has brought together factions of the city to address this pandemic head-on, and this will be another example.”

Residents and business owners can sign up to participate live in the zoom event by visiting After joining they will be able to raise their hands to share their experiences, ask questions, or both.

Those wishing to just watch the event live on YouTube, but not participate via zoom, can visit

Participating in the event in addition to Williams and Lederman are Ward 1 City Councilor Gumersindo Gomez, Ward 2 City Councilor Michael Fenton, Ward 3 City Councilor Melvin Edwards, Ward 4 City Councilor Malo Brown, Ward 7 City Councilor Tim Allen, Ward 8 City Councilor Orlando Ramos, and At-Large Councilors Sean Curran and Kateri Walsh.

Also joining the event will be Springfield Commissioner of Health and Human Services Helen Caulton-Harris, Chief Administrative & Financial Officers T.J. Plante, Economic Development Director Timothy Sheehan, and Director of Parks, Building, and Recreation Patrick Sullivan. The Department Heads will provide brief updates at the beginning of the program.

Individuals who cannot attend the event live but would still like to share their experience and input are encouraged to submit written testimony to City Councilor Jesse Lederman, Chairman of the Committee, at

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page